2024 Under-19 Cricket World Cup Format and Groups Announced

2024 Under-19 Cricket World Cup Format and Groups Announced

The cricketing world is abuzz with excitement as the lineup for the 2024 Under-19 Cricket World Cup has been revealed, and it promises to be a thrilling tournament that showcases the young talents of the sport. The competition is scheduled to kick off on January 13, 2024, with the hosts Sri Lanka facing off against Zimbabwe, and cricket enthusiasts around the world are eagerly counting down the days. Let’s dive into the details of the tournament, the teams, the format, and what to expect in this exciting event.

The Line-Up for 2024

The participating teams have been divided into four groups, setting the stage for fierce competition:

Group A: India, Bangladesh, Ireland, USA

Group B: England, South Africa, West Indies, Scotland

Group C: Australia, Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe, Namibia

Group D: Afghanistan, Pakistan, New Zealand, Nepal


With such a diverse array of cricketing nations, the tournament promises to be a true test of skill, talent, and determination. The groups have been strategically designed to ensure balanced competition, with the powerhouses of cricket spread across different groups.


The 2024 Men’s U-19 World Cup will feature a total of 41 matches, spanning 23 days and taking place at five venues, all within Colombo. The R Premadasa International Cricket Stadium will host the tournament opener, the semi-finals on January 30 and February 1, and the grand final on February 4. The other venues include the P Sara Oval, Colombo Cricket Club, Nondescripts Cricket Club, and the Sinhalese Sports Club.


This is a remarkable opportunity for cricket enthusiasts in Sri Lanka to witness some of the most promising young cricketers from around the world in action. The passion and love for cricket in Sri Lanka are well-known, and this tournament will undoubtedly be a memorable experience for fans.


Eleven Full Member sides have qualified directly for the tournament based on their performance in the 2022 edition. Additionally, five teams – Namibia, Nepal, New Zealand, Scotland, and the USA – have earned their spots through regional qualification events. 


Chris Tetley, ICC Head of Events, expressed the organization’s excitement, stating, “Virat Kohli, Steve Smith, Kane Williamson, and Angelo Mathews are some of the names that made their entrance onto the world stage at this event, and we are certain to see this tradition continue as the drama unfolds.” The Under-19 World Cup has a history of being a launching pad for future cricketing legends, and the 2024 edition promises to be no different.


The International Cricket Council (ICC) has introduced an exciting change to the tournament format for 2024. Initially, the 16 teams will be divided into four groups of four. However, instead of eight teams advancing to the second round, now 12 teams will qualify. The Super Six stage will feature two groups of six teams each, with the top four teams from each group progressing to the semi-finals.


This revamped format is designed to enhance competition and make the tournament more challenging. It also allows a greater number of teams to remain in contention for the title, which should result in more exciting matches as the event progresses.



Subscribe to us to receive the latest gaming news.

Traffic data

Provide a full range of digital marketing data reports.